Cooper Announces Disaster Relief is Available for Tornado Victims

Mar 6, 2020
Press Release

NASHVILLE – Following the tornadoes in Tennessee earlier this week, the president has approved Tennessee’s request for Major Disaster Declaration. FEMA released the information below and attached.


State of Tennessee

Federal Disaster Declaration Fact Sheet

March 5, 2020

Today, March 5, 2020, President Donald J. Trump granted an Expedited Major Disaster Declaration for the State of Tennessee triggering the release of Federal funds to help people and communities recover from Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-line Winds, and Flooding that occurred March 3, 2020.  Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:

Declaration Number:                                                       FEMA-4476-DR

Incident:                                                                          Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-line Winds, and Flooding                                 

Incident Period:                                                               March 3, 2020

Federal Coordinating Officer:                                         Myra M. Shird, National FCO Program

Individual Assistance (IA):                                             (Assistance to individuals and households):

IA-Designated Counties:                                                 Davidson, Putnam, and Wilson Counties.

Public Assistance (PA):                                                   (Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities):

PA-Designated Counties:                                                Davidson, Putnam, and Wilson Counties for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B) under the Public   Assistance program.

Hazard Mitigation (HM):                                                (Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards):

HM-Designated Areas:                                                   All areas in the State of Tennessee are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

OTHER:                                                                          Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Individuals in Davidson, Putnam, and Wilson Counties can register with FEMA the following ways:

1. Apply online at  

2. Constituents may call the registration phone number at 1-800-621-3362; those who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.